Research Award Winners 2012

Submitted by Natalie Reed, Director of Library Services, Midwestern University

The Professional Practice Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the first Midwest Chapter Research Awards. The awards are presented to the authors of the best research papers and posters at the Annual Meeting. The awards were developed to promote research by members of the Midwest Chapter and to encourage members to conduct library and information research and to share the results through papers and posters at the Annual Meeting. The board has budgeted $200 and $100 respectively for the first and second place winners for best paper, and $125 and $75 respectively, for the first and second place winners for best poster. A description of the award and judging criteria can be found on the chapter website.

This year’s winners are:


Honorable Mention: “The Significance of Disambiguated Authors in an Institutional Publication Database.” Mark Wentz, Mayo Clinic Rochester, Minnesota
Melissa L. Rethlefsen, Mayo Clinic Rochester, Minnesota
$50 total to the authors

Honorable Mention: “Developing and Administering a Campus-wide Survey: A First Step in Assessing Data Management Needs.” Xiaomei Gu – Clinical Education Librarian, Hardin Library for the Health Sciences & Adjunct Assistants Professor , College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa
Shawn Averkamp – Data Services Librarian, University of Iowa Libraries
Nicole Saylor – Head, Digital Research & Publishing, University of Iowa Libraries
Linda Walton –Associate University Librarian & Director, Hardin Library for the Health Sciences University of Iowa
$50 total for the authors:


1st Place “Discovering the Impact of Library Instruction on First-year Medical Students.” Ryan Rafferty, Assistant Professor, Regional Assistant Librarian, Library of the Health Sciences-Urbana, University of Illinois-Chicago

 2nd Place tie:

“Testing the soil: benchmarking the information literacy skills of nursing students performing evidence-based research.” Elizabeth Moreton, Health Sciences Librarian at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

“Building Competence: Self- and Peer-evaluation of Information Resources by First-year Dental Students in a Problem-Based Curriculum.” Barbara A. Gushrowski, Access and Instructional Services Librarian, Indiana University School of Dentistry Library
$75 to each author

Congratulations to this year’s winners. The Professional Practice Committee looks forward to presenting these Research Awards at future meetings.

This entry was posted in Awards, Grants, Scholarships, Research Awards - Annual Meeting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.