News from the Awards and Scholarships Committee

The current Awards and Scholarships Committee of the Midwest Chapter has been busy meeting about our upcoming awards and evaluating the excellent applications and nominations we’ve received. With Jackie Freeman chairing, members LaTeesa James, Eileen Severson, Donald Pearson and Merete Christianson are happy to announce the following winners:

  • Our First Time Attendee award winner is Simon Robins, Reference Librarian at Northeast Ohio Medical University in Rootstown, Ohio. Mr. Robins is a new professional and new to the Midwest  Chapter, and with this award will be attending and participating in the Midwest MLA Chapter Conference for the first time this October. 
  • Our Annual Meeting grant winner is Vivian McCallum, User Services Librarian at Case Western Reserve University Health Sciences Library in Cleveland, Ohio.  Ms. McCallum is an active member of the Midwest Chapter, currently serving on the Exhibits Committee. This award will allow her to attend the October conference.

In addition to these two awards, we will be awarding the Distinguished Librarian of the Year award at the conference. Hope to see you there!

Submitted by Merete Christianson, on behalf of the Awards & Scholarships Committee

This entry was posted in Awards, Grants, Scholarships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.